For Schemes enquiries contact 0800 654 731

  • Cecilia Tarrant Chairman

    Appointed as a Board member in 2011 and as Chairman from May 2017. Ms Tarrant is an executive-in-residence at The University of Auckland Business School after having 20 years’ experience in international banking and finance in the USA and Europe.

    In that time, Ms Tarrant worked as a real estate finance lawyer and as an investment banker with Credit Suisse First Boston and Morgan Stanley, culminating in holding the position of managing director in Morgan Stanley’s Global Capital Markets Group in London.

    Ms Tarrant is also a director of Fletcher Building Limited, Annuitas Management Limited, Shopping Centres Australasian (SCA) Property Group Trustee NZ Limited and Javan Cream Company Limited. She is a member of the University of Auckland Council and a trustee of the University of Auckland Foundation and Tere Waitomo Community Trust.
  • Craig Ansley

    Craig Ansley was appointed to the Board of the Government Superannuation Fund Authority in July 2012. He is an Adjunct Professor of Finance at the University of Auckland and a member of the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation.

    Dr Ansley was founder of the New Zealand office of Russell Investment Group, and spent several years in senior roles in that organisation. He was a member of the Savings Working Group, a trustee of the National Provident Fund and has been a director of a number of companies in the private sector.

    Dr Ansley has a BSc (Hons) in Mathematics from the University of Canterbury, and a Ph.D. (Business Administration) from the University of Michigan. He is a Fellow of the New Zealand Society of Actuaries.
  • Michelle van Gaalen

    Appointed as a Board member in November 2012. Ms van Gaalen has significant experience in financial services. She is Chief Executive of Pinnacle Life Limited.

    Ms van Gaalen has held a number of senior management roles with BNZ, Telecom, Westpac and NZ Post focussing on corporate development and implementation of business strategy.
  • Shelley Cave

    Appointed as a Board member in 2014. Ms Cave is on the board of the Financial Markets Authority, and is a consultant to Simpson Grierson. She was previously a corporate partner of Simpson Grierson for 12 years specialising in mergers and acquisitions and capital markets, covering both public markets and the private equity sector.
  • Ainsley McLaren

    Appointed as a Board member in July 2015. Ms McLaren has broad financial services experience including investment management, fixed interest and financial markets.

    Ms McLaren was previously Head of Investment Management for ASB Group Investments Limited, one of New Zealand’s largest investment managers. In this role, she was accountable for the performance of ASB Bank’s retail managed funds and immunising the long-dated liabilities of Sovereign Assurance, New Zealand’s largest life insurer.

    Ms McLaren has a BCom in Economics from the University of Auckland.
  • Alison O'Connell

    Appointed to the Board in May 2017. Dr O'Connell is also on the Board of the Education Benevolent Society Inc. and the Earthquake Commission.

    Dr O'Connell is a Governor and former Director of the Pensions Policy Institute in the UK. Her background is in the financial services industry, mainly in strategic management roles including at Swiss Re and McKinsey.

    Dr O'Connell's PhD is from Victoria University, Wellington. She has an MA in Mathematics from the University of Cambridge and an MSc in Gerontology from the University of London. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries in the UK and the New Zealand Society of Actuaries.